You must either enroll in a qualified health plan or have a valid exemption.
Starting in 2020, California residents must either:
- Have qualifying health insurance coverage, or
- Pay a penalty when filing a state tax return, or
- Get an exemption from the requirement to have coverage.
The penalty for not having coverage the entire year will be at least $800 per adult and $400 per dependent child under 18 in the household when you file your 2021 state income tax return in 2022. A family of four that goes uninsured for the whole year would face a penalty of at least $2,400.The penalty will be applied by the California Franchise Tax Board.